9/15

wrestled at the high school today with Connor. Only worked on an elbow pass to an ankle pick, high c and a single on my feet. On top, I only worked cheap tilts and cradles. On bottom, I just kept trying different stand ups seeing which one worked best. gotta focus on a few moves and perfect them, and i figured ankle picks and high cs are low risk, high return. gotta get good at them, same with doubles, but we’ll save that for later. I think I sprained my ring fingers, jammed it on the mat, its swollen and starting to change colors, I can still bend it so whatever, I’ll just tape it to my middle finger if  it still hurts the next time I wrestle.

Overall, I’d say I got beat, but Connor is a tough kid and I’m right there if I just keep working, I’ll beat him by the time season starts. So close to breaking through and killing people on the mat. Taking a few days off, for a mental break, until Monday. But I feel wore out mentally and I know I shouldn’t but I need a short little break, just a mental reprieve.

But, there are a few things I need to work on, and they are driving through the leg when I shoot, exploding when I stand up and my hand fighting could always improve. I don’t know why, but lately I’ve stopped exploding and driving through the legs when I shoot, but I’ll fix it. Once I fix that I’ll start getting a lot more take downs. My shot was good when I was practicing with Coach Cowan and Coach Mark, just need to work on it some more and remember that with a good set up and a solid driving finish I will kill kids.

Anyways, I’m out. Peace

Leave a Reply

