One Year Plan For Wrestling

Felt like I need to write out my goals, expectations and how I plan to achieve what I want to, which is, of course, a state champion. This plan include what I’m going to do now, until next October. In a month by month order.

October 2011
Fall League Wrestling
Practice at the HS
Following my strength and conditioning program

November 2011
Stay after practice and drill
Stay after practice and condition
Work out on my own, twice a week to maintain strength
Stick to my game plan: Ankle picks, low singles, doubles and cheap tilts.
Maintain my weight

December 2011
Stay after practice and drill
Stay after practice and condition
Work out on my own, twice a week to maintain strength
Stick to my game plan: Ankle picks, low singles, doubles and cheap tilts.
Maintain my weight

January 2012
Stay after practice and drill
Stay after practice and condition
Work out on my own, twice a week to maintain strength
Stick to my game plan: Ankle picks, low singles, doubles and cheap tilts.
Maintain my weight
End of Jan. don’t condition and drill as much after practice, don’t want to overtrain for state

February 2012
Work out on my own, twice a week to maintain strength
Stick to my game plan: Ankle picks, low singles, doubles and cheap tilts.
Maintain my weight
Drill and Condition for 15 minutes after practice
Win Region and State Tournament

March 2012
Find a club to wrestle for
Help Coach Cowan with Little League Wrestling
Improve Technique/Get Stronger
Wrestle in 2 Off Season Tournaments

April 2012
Improve technique/Get Stronger
Wrestle in 2 Off Season Tournaments
Help Coach Cowan with Little League
Win Freestyle & Greco State Championships

May 2012
Improve Technique/Get Stronger
Watch film 1.5 hrs/week
Wrestle with Coach Mark twice a week

June 2012
Improve Technique/Get Stronger
Wrestle with Coach Mark twice a week
Score 20 Takedowns on each of the two coaches.
Watch film 1.5 hrs/week
Attend a Summer Camp

July 2012
Improve Technique/Get Stronger
Wrestle with Coach Mark twice a week
Score 20 more takedowns on each of the coaches.
Watch film 1.5 hrs/week
Attend a Summer Camp

August 2012
Shadow Wrestle 10 minutes daily
Run 3 – 5 times a week
Get Stronger
Watch film 2 hrs/week

September 2012
Fall League Wrestling
Preseason Practices at HS
Improve Technique/Get Stronger
Watch film 2 hrs/week

October 2012
Fall League Wrestling
Preseason Practices at HS
Improve Technique/Get Stronger
Midway through October; Switch to power and endurance strength training.

Its kind of vague. By improving technique I mean making time to drill a shot or stand up, or turn 20 – 50 times a day. With a practice partner, or shadow wrestling if I don’t have a partner. Watching film I mean like watching collegiate matches, Top level HS matches, World/Olympic freestyle/Greco matches. Getting stronger is pretty self explanatory. This is my plan, I need to elaborate on it a little more, but if I follow it, I think I have a good chance at taking state.

ANY GIVEN DAY.
I like that phrase. I can beat anyone on any given day. It will be tough, but it can be done. Just have to focus and work harder on the tasks at hand and make sure to keep my life balanced. Athletics, Academics and Socially. If I can keep the balance and focus, I’ll kill it. If not, I’m sure my performance will degrade.

Anyways, I’m going to bed. Peace

Leave a Reply

