Traits for Success

Intensity [in-ten-si-tee]
great energy, strength, concentration, vehemence, etc., as of activity, thought, or feeling.

Resilience [ri-zil-yuhns, -zil-ee-uhns]
ability to recover readily from illness, depression, adversity, or the like

Confidence [kon-fi-duhns]
belief in oneself and one’s powers or abilities; self-confidence; self-reliance; assurance

I believe to be successful you have to have these traits.They aren’t in any real order I think they are all about equally important, give or take a little.

Intensity because without heart and love for what you’re doing you won’t go as hard or as intensely to accomplish something. You have to be intense to accomplish things I think, whether it is an intense love for something, or even an intense hate.
Resilience because somethings, well, most things, are going to take more than one try. And you might be beat one, two, or three times. Without resilience, you’d give up.. you’d break. You’d be worthless.
Confidence because if you don’t believe in yourself, or don’t believe in what you are doing to accomplish your goals, who will believe in you? If you don’t even believe in yourself or your methods of accomplishing your goals, why should anyone else?

I think these are 3 of the many traits that make a person successful. These 3 are the ones I need to work on the most in my opinion. I have a very intense love for the sport of wrestling, and I have a fairly intense way of accomplishing my goals, although it could be more intense, as could my love for this sport. I chose Resilience because some time’s when I lose I take two steps backward and get down on myself, when really, I should be taking two or three steps forward. Learning what I did wrong, analyzes all my errors – both psychically and mentally. And, finally, Confidence. I chose confidence because I don’t have a lot of it. I think that with Confidence comes resiliency and vice versa. These 3 areas are the areas I plan on working on to improve. To help me become the very best I can possibly be.


Jay Borschel shows intensity, resiliency and confidence in this match as he comes from behind 5+ points to win and to put him into the 2010 NCAA DI Finals.

What three areas do you need to work on? Pick 3 traits you think successful people have that you need to work and post them in the comments section. Make yourself a better person, a better athlete, or whatever you want to be.

Leave a Reply

